After an incident with Rory McIlroy recently, once again focus is on whether or not it is OK, that another players ball is not marked and lifted (and thereby maybe is used as “back-stop”).
See the video here:
@Sunshine_Tour @EuropeanTour surely this ball should have been marked? This is clearly against the rules of Golf, rule 22-1. This happens all the time on tour, and no one ever gets penalized for it. #unacceptable pic.twitter.com/y7uktCb7xW
— Oliver Bekker (@olliebekkergolf) January 28, 2018
2. Unreasonable advantage?
Some think that McIlroy (and other players in similar situations) uses this other ball as a help – if they strike the other ball, their ball will stop closer to the hole, than if the ball had not been there.
I have written a blog about the subject some time ago – you can read it on this link.
Feel free to write below what you think about it!