QUIZ 37 (The Rules of Golf): Remove white stake… and replace it before stroke…penalty?

Hi all!

Time for yet another Rules quiz (This is quite difficult!):

-> Your ball lies (in bounds) next to a white stake. You remove the stake. You are then told, that you were not allowed to do so, and therefore you replace the stake. You then make the stroke (bad stroke!). 

Question 1: Do you incur any penalty if it happens in 2018?
Question 2: Will you incur any penalty if it happens in 2019?

Write your answer below 🙂

/Brian

PS: Try some more quizzes (links below):

Quiz 37: Remove white stake – put it back again.
Quiz 36: Dropping from shoulder height in 2019.
Quiz 35: Talking with mom!
Quiz 34: Ball in trash bin.
Quiz 33: Relief from flagstick?
Quiz 32: Move white stake.
Quiz 31: Is ball out of bounds?
Quiz 30: Wrong teeing ground.
Quiz 29: Wrong putting green.
Quiz 28: Blue stake with black top.
Quiz 27: Holing ball with flagstick in hole.
Quiz 26: Ball in tree – what now?
Quiz 25: Searching?
Quiz 24: Practice swing in bunker.
Quiz 23: Mark ball in bunker.
Quiz 22: Ball unplayable.
Quiz 21: Identifying ball.
Quiz 20: Ball on path.
Quiz 19: Relief from bench.

38

38 responses to QUIZ 37 (The Rules of Golf): Remove white stake… and replace it before stroke…penalty?

  1. Jim Jack May 11th, 2018 at 19:56

    It is not permitted to move a white stake (OOB stake)

    • Walford thyer May 12th, 2018 at 0:21

      Not permitted to move out of bounds marker stakes. Penalty incurred

    • Anonymous May 12th, 2018 at 10:46

      Det er ok i 2018 men ikke i 2019.

    • jim richards May 28th, 2018 at 17:16

      If you remove oob stake it’s a two stroke penalty whether you replace the stake or not. I’m sure it will be the same rule in 2019 as well.

    • Alastair May 29th, 2018 at 18:32

      Question 1: 2 stroke penalty
      Question 2:: No penalty

  2. Ian Murray May 11th, 2018 at 22:49

    No penalty, the ball is in play.

  3. Michael Dixon May 12th, 2018 at 1:09

    Today: Penalty under Rule 13-2 ( see decision 13-2/25)

    2019: No penalty if replaced before stroke ( new rule 8.1c)

  4. Yelverton Tegner May 12th, 2018 at 12:48

    2018: 2 strokes penalty.
    2019: No penalty

  5. Bob Burt May 12th, 2018 at 17:46

    2 stroke penalty

  6. Gerry May 12th, 2018 at 23:33

    2 strokes in 2018….no penalty in 2019 if no improvement to lie etc has been made

  7. Sue May 13th, 2018 at 5:55

    OOB stake is immovable full stop, therefor penalty applies

  8. Uris May 14th, 2018 at 16:08

    Except when both the loose impediment and the ball lie in or touch the same hazard, any loose impediment may be removed without penalty.

  9. keith May 15th, 2018 at 19:54

    yes penalty, should not remove

  10. Bernie May 16th, 2018 at 18:35

    No penalty if replaced before stroke 2018/9

  11. JuriBrown May 16th, 2018 at 19:07

    Penalty 2 shots, replacing wasn’t necessary prior to hitting his shot.

  12. joe whelan May 16th, 2018 at 20:55

    2 shot penalty, boundary.

  13. mjj May 16th, 2018 at 21:52

    its a penalty either now or then

    mjj

  14. Daniel Carney May 17th, 2018 at 10:27

    Decision 13 2/25 – penalty 2018
    Local rule for internal oob may overrule only on holes where the oob does not apply.

  15. David May 17th, 2018 at 16:07

    A penalty of two strokes is incurred. Once the stake is removed the violation cannot be corrected by replacing the out of bounds stake.

  16. Rupinder Soin May 28th, 2018 at 15:35

    Quiz 37 he incurs a 2 stroke penalty even if he replaces the stake before his next stroke

  17. Sally May 28th, 2018 at 15:52

    You will incur a 2 stroke penalty in 2018

    No penalty in 2019 if you replace the stake before you make a stroke.

  18. José María Fernández Alonso May 28th, 2018 at 16:34

    2018: Penalty under Rule 13-2.

    2019: No penalty.

  19. Roy May 28th, 2018 at 19:44

    2 shot penalty even if replaced, then and now

  20. Stephen Wise May 28th, 2018 at 20:27

    2018 – 2 shot penalty
    2019 – no penalty if post returned to its original position

  21. ron May 28th, 2018 at 21:25

    2 stroke penalty in 2018 under rule 13-2. Moving a fixed object. In 2019, player can avoid the penalty by replacing the “boundary object” prior to making the stroke. Otherwise the player incurs the general penalty

  22. Mike May 28th, 2018 at 22:21

    2 stroke penalty rather player put it back or not. Player does not have to put it back.

  23. Mike May 28th, 2018 at 23:57

    No penalty in 2018 & 2019.

  24. David Craswell May 29th, 2018 at 0:02

    Two stroke penalty in 2018 and same in 2019

  25. Michael Dixon May 29th, 2018 at 6:36

    Today : 2 stroke penalty under rule 13-2

    2019: No penalty if stake returned to original position before stroke made, under (new) rule 8-1(c)

  26. Peter Jones May 29th, 2018 at 9:37

    No penalty

  27. mikel F May 29th, 2018 at 21:49

    Question 1: 2 stroke penalty (R 13-2, Decision 13-2/25)
    Question 2: No penalty (New Rule 8-1c)

  28. Frustrated Golfer June 6th, 2018 at 12:01

    It’s very confusing giving a question, asking people to leave their answer and not actually providing a “Click here to see answer” beside it. You’ll have people playing sometime saying “I definitely read that you were allowed to move white stakes as long as you replace them”, even though you are not allowed to touch white stakes. Please, either put a link to the relevant ruling, or put the question in a quiz format with various options so that when it’s clicked it will tell the person whether they’re right or not!

    • Oswald Academy August 2nd, 2018 at 8:57

      Hi Frustrated Golfer.
      Thank you for your comments – I appreciate it!
      I will certainly think about that when I post questions in the future. For your information i make a lot of different things. I make rules books, slideshows, quizzes, questions, video’es etc… and I make them to many different people (“normal” golfers, rules enthusiasts, new golfers etc.). Therefore i try to create a lot of different things.

      My experience is that sometimes, if you give the answer right away, then people donate think about what the answer could be. They just read the answer and forgets it. If they donate get the answer but gets a chance to think about it and discuss it, then they will much easier remember the result. But of course they then needs to get the result and I should have posted it some time ago, but due to Holiday end other things I have not had the time. Hopefully I can do it within the next weeks.

      Again: Thank you for your comments – they are highly appreciated!

      /Brian Oswald

  29. Janet June 10th, 2018 at 22:21

    Currently – 2018 – it is a two stroke penalty for removing the white OB stake. I am not aware if this has changed for 2019.

  30. Owen July 2nd, 2018 at 7:50

    2018 2 Shot Penalty
    2019 No Penalty

  31. michael knight July 18th, 2018 at 16:13

    2 strokes now NO pen in 2019

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. QUIZ 36 (The Rules of Golf): What happens if you drop from shoulder height in 2019? | Golfrules - 11. May 2018

    […] 37: Remove white stake – put it back again. Quiz 36: Dropping from shoulder height in 2019. Quiz 35: Talking with mom! Quiz 34: Ball in trash […]

  2. QUIZ 37 (The Rules of Golf): Remove white stake… and replace it before stroke…penalty? – TODAYS GOLF TALK - 5. June 2018

    […] 37: Remove white stake – put it back again. Quiz 36: Dropping from shoulder height in 2019. Quiz 35: Talking with mom! Quiz 34: Ball in trash […]

Leave a Reply