Birdie to Matt Wallace despite his ball having struck a power line!

Putting green - Power line

A power line on a golf course can cause problems. But it can also be of help! Matt Wallace realized that during the recent Italian Open on the European Tour.

When playing his second stroke on the 12th hole in the first round Thursday, Wallace’s ball struck a power line:

Unfortunately, the ball was deflected into an adjacent penalty area (water)!

But as luck would have it, a Local Rule was in place allowing (and obligating) him – to replay the stroke without penalty– rather than proceeding with a one-stroke penalty under the penalty-area-Rule:

If it is known or virtually certain that a player’s ball hit a power line or tower or a wire or pole supporting a power line during the play of specify hole number, the stroke does not count. The player must play a ball without penalty from where the previous stroke was made (see Rule 14.6 for what to do).

-> Read this article about Rickie Fowler (who did NOT take advantage of the special one-club-length-dropping-procedure under Rule 14.6).
-> See the Oswald Rules School 5th grade about penalty areas.

Wallace replayed the stroke and his ball ended up five feet from the hole. He then holed out for an excellent birdie! As the commentator said: It was electrifying…!

Matt Wallace made the cut and ended up as tied 48th.

/Brian

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.