Rules Quiz September 2019 I: About stakes.

Time for yet another Rules quiz: “Rules Quiz September 2019 I”!

This time it is about removing stakes.

Please answer the questions in the comment section (“Leave a Replay”) below.

Questions.

  1. Are you allowed to remove a red stake before playing?
  2. Are you allowed to remove a white (out of bounds) stake before playing?
  3. Are you allowed to remove a white (ground under repair) stake before playing?

Tip: See this video from The Oswald Golf Rules School and this video.

______________________________________

Answer no later than September 28th to join the draw for the book!

Among those (if any!) with all three questions answered correctly, we will draw lots about a copy of the First Aid book.

/Brian

PS: If you like Rules quizzes like this Rules Quiz September 2019 I, feel free to see other quizzes by pressing “Quiz” above.

59 Comments
  1. Jo Baldwin says

    1. Yes
    2. No ( If you remove them they may be replaced before play with no penalty._
    3. Yes

    1. John says

      Same as Jo Baldwin.

      1. Linda says

        Yes
        No
        Yes

    2. Marion says

      Yes, no, yes.

  2. Olav Maaland says

    Red stakes Yes
    OB stakes No
    GUR Yes

    1. Lisa says

      Yes
      Yes
      Yes
      Any stake can be removed and replaced

      1. Zafar Mehmood says

        1.Yes
        2.No
        3.yes

    2. Joann Linville says

      Yes
      No
      Yes

  3. Bunny Johnson says

    Yes, it’s permissible to remove red stakes (which are movable obstructions) before playing , but you need to replace them.

    No, you may NOT remove white boundary stakes.

    Yes, you may remove white stakes (which are movable obstructions) marking GUR but you need to replace them.

  4. WING COMMANDER BINAYA BHUSAN MEHER says

    1. Red stakes : Yes (You have to replace the Red Stake after making a Stroke and in this case the Ball in play must be outside the Penalty Area)

    2. White (Out of Bounds) Stakes : No

    3. White (Ground Under Repair) Stake : Yes (You have to replace the Stake indicating GUR after making a Stroke

  5. Mary says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

    1. WING COMMANDER BINAYA BHUSAN MEHER says

      Hi Good evening. May I know…Have you cleared R&A Rules Officials Exam. Thx

  6. Max Watson says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  7. J. J. says

    YES < NO < YES

  8. Owen says

    Yes
    No – if you do so it must be replaced before you play your shot. If the ball moves during these actions you incur a penalty stroke.
    Yes

  9. Peter Askey says

    1. Yes
    2. No
    3. Yes

  10. Mark Biddle says

    Yes. Yes . Yes.

  11. Cheryl Yost says

    1.Yes
    2.No
    3.Yes

  12. John Maguire says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  13. Jeff Kohlman says

    Yes, Yes, Yes but an OB stake must be replaced before making a stroke. Other stakes are movable obstructions and can be removed regardless of position of the ball. It is good etiquette to replace them. If a red stake happens to be permanent, no relief if ball is in penalty area. If white stake marking GUR is permanent, you can take relief from the stake or take relief directly from the GUR.

  14. Gary Belford says

    yes
    no
    yes

    1. Mary Ellen says

      Yes; No; Yes

  15. Herb Lyon says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  16. Lucy says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  17. David Simpson says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  18. TOM BENNETT says

    1 YES
    2 NO
    3 YES

  19. Chip Mitchell says

    Yes, no, yes

  20. Heinz Landhäußer says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  21. Anke SUTTER says

    1. Yes
    2. No
    3. Yes

  22. Bob Lawrence says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  23. Mark Biddle says

    I’m not sure the question(s) demanded an interpretive answer. Certainly not enough information to be assured. Physically immovable stakes, no play zones, committee local rules etc.
    So my answers of yes, yes, yes could be no, no , no.

  24. Paul Doffman says

    YES
    NO
    YES

  25. Sæmundur Melstað says

    1. Are you allowed to remove a red stake before playing?
    Yes, red stakes are movable objects (unless local rules define them as unmovable) and you can remove them. If for any reason they are stuck in the ground you would have to treat them as unmovable.

    2. Are you allowed to remove a white (out of bounds) stake before playing?
    No you are not allowed to do that. They are boundary objects, and there is no relief from them.

    3. Are you allowed to remove a white (ground under repair) stake before playing?
    Yes, they have the same status as red stakes. (Movable objects). (Its unlikely that a local rule would define them as unmovable)

  26. Robyn says

    Yes, no, yes

  27. jim richards says

    I agree totally with Saemunder Melstao. These are the correct answers.

  28. Roberta Hamilton says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  29. Michael Dixon says

    1. Yes , unless a local rule either makes it an immovable obstruction or an integral part of the course. Etiquette would suggest it is to replaced after your shot
    2. There is no penalty for actually moving a boundary object before your stroke, provided that you return it to its original position before you hit your next shot. A penalty will only be incurred if the white boundary stake is not so replaced
    3. Yes. Same explanation as for red pegs

  30. Frank Hobbs says

    Local rules dictate the removal of white, red or yellow posts, but GUR posts can be moved and then replaced after the shot.

  31. Donna Gagnon says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  32. Donna Gagnon says

    Yes
    No
    Yes
    My answered to the questions

  33. steve potts says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  34. Tom says

    yes
    no
    yes

  35. Elizabeth Clarke says

    1) Yes. You can remove a red stake before playing. Replace when stroke is taken.

    2) No. Out of bounds stakes cannot be removed. Unless…it’s an internal out of bounds and does not apply to the hole being played.

    3) Yes. A GUR stake may be removed if it interfers with the stroke provided you are not standing in the GUR. But..why is the stake white? Gur is usually marked with blue bounderies. A white stake could be mistaken for an OB stake.

  36. skip hoelker says

    yes no yes

  37. JFK says

    Jo Baldwin said it best.

  38. Anonymous says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  39. Jbmelrose says

    1) Yes
    2) No
    3) Yes

  40. Dave Mail says

    yes, yes, yes, Replace all before moving on.

  41. Mike Ball says

    1. Yes
    2. Yes, if you replace it before making a stroke. If not, penalty
    3. Yes

  42. Barb Norton says

    1. Yes you can remove a red stake and ground under repair. However you may not play within the under repair area. No to white OB stake.

  43. Dave W says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  44. Frank Fleming says

    1.Yes
    2.No
    3.Yes

  45. Tommy says

    1. Yes
    2. No
    3. Yes

  46. Tommy Holcombe says

    1. Yes
    2. No
    3. Yes

  47. Eric Duguay says

    1 yes
    2 no
    3 yes

  48. Jo-Anne Vail says

    1..yes
    2..no
    3..yes

  49. Suzette Worthington says

    Yes
    No
    Yes

  50. Alan Isherwood says

    YES, NO, YES

  51. Alan Isherwood says

    No comment

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.