Shortest drive ever: One yard… the wrong way!!

Hi all!

Simply wanted to show you this video about a player who is not too lucky:

As you can see, the ball ended one yard behind (!) the spot, where he played from… and thus the stroke is (hopefully!) not too good for his driving-length-statistics….

Rule 6.2 allows him to tee the ball (without penalty) within the teeing area and play his second stroke – last year he did not have that option (or rather: he did have that option but it would cost him a one stroke penalty).

Hopefully the second stroke will be better than the first… :-).

/Brian

3 Comments
  1. Doyle Flannery says

    How can he retee the ball without penalty, it was clear he had made a stroke at the ball, what if it ha gone 1 yd in front of him

    1. Anonymous says

      Check your 2019 Rules of Golf.
      The R&A USGA made a strong and successful effort to eliminate accidental
      Penalties, of which this is one

    2. Lawrie says

      As long as the ball is within the teeing area of the hole you are playing you may tee it up anywhere in the teeing area with no penalty. See Rule 6-2b(6):

      “When Ball in Play Lies in Teeing Area. If the player’s ball in play is in the teeing area after a stroke (such as a teed ball after a stroke that missed the ball) or after taking relief, the player may:

      Lift or move the ball without penalty (see Rule 9.4b, Exception 1), and

      Play that ball or another ball from anywhere in the teeing area from a tee or the ground under (2), including playing the ball as it lies.”

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.