Yesterday in the Masters, Zach Johnson encountered a weird episode where the Rules of Golf subsequent were discussed:
— Jon Sherman (@practicalgolf) 12. april 2019
As you can see, he struck the ball in a practice swing, whereafter it was deflected by one of the tee-markers … and then ended a few yards away to the left of the teeing area!
Johnson looked quite surprised and confused!
Luckily the Rules of Golf are pretty simple in this situation:
- It was not a stroke (no intention – see the Definition of a “Stroke”).
- He did not incur any penalty (since the ball was not in play – see Rule 9).
Thus Zach Johnson could simply get his ball, tee it, and play his first stroke :-).