Apparently the 2019 Rules of Golf are difficult to remember.
Thus, Rickie Fowler this Friday incurred a one stroke penalty in WGC-Mexico Championship for dropping from shoulder height, and not correcting the error before the stroke:
Fowlers stroke was out of bounds and therefore he should play from the spot, where he last played from with a one stroke penalty.
By the way it seems like Fowler was unaware of another new (changed) Rule in 2019: When playing from the spot you last played from, you don’t have to play from the exact same spot anymore – you can drop a ball within one club-length of that spot, not nearer the hole. It looks like he in fact could have dropped on the fairway (rather than in the rough) completely in accordance with the Rules!
Weird that such simple Rules can cause so many problems. But of course old habits are difficult to get rid of.
According to Golfweek, Fowler was not too happy about the new knee height dropping Rule:
– I think, with the new rules that have been put in place, it’s not doing any favors for our sport. I think it will definitely be changed…So, no, like I said, it was on me, but I think it’s a terrible change.
It will most definitely not be the last time someone drops from shoulder height…:-).