The “drama” about the new Rule, that forbids a caddie deliberately to stand e.g. behind the player, when he is beginning to take his stance (see the exact wording in Rule 10.2b(4)), continues after the Li Haotong-episode.
Thus, Denny McCarthy yesterday (Friday) incurred two penalty strokes in Waste Management Phoenix Open in this situation:
Denny McCarthy’s two-shot penalty from Friday’s round has been rescinded.
Here’s why: pic.twitter.com/RPCck88UMV
— PGA TOUR (@PGATOUR) 2. februar 2019
But Saturday the PGA Tour released this statement, where they rescinded the penalty:
Statement from PGA TOUR on Rule 10.2b(4) pic.twitter.com/LexksnNv6e
— PGA TOUR Communications (@PGATOURComms) February 2, 2019
It seems like The R&A and USGA will take a look at this Rule,since there is uncertainty regarding a) what exactly is meant by the caddie “deliberately” standing there and b) exactly when the player is considered to begin to take his stance.
Below are two situations, which was caught on video, where the players were not penalized, but where they (maybe!) should have been:
- Look at this link https://www.facebook.com/blakey66/videos/10158085405482388/
- See this video:
— Matthew Galloway (@matthewgalloway) 1. februar 2019
Interesting what will happen now!