Wow, now there is some really “interesting” news about the Rules of Golf!
Today, Sergio Garcia was disqualified from Saudi International for purposely damaging several putting greens:
Crazy story. Sergio Garcia has been DQ’d from the European Tour event in Saudi Arabia for purposely damaging the greens with his clubs.
In a statement, he accepted the ruling and said, “In frustration, I damaged a couple of greens, for which I apologize.”
— Jason Sobel (@JasonSobelTAN) 2. februar 2019
According to GolfChannels website it happened on five putting greens!
According to the European Tour website Garcia stated that he respected the disqualification, and that he had informed his fellow players, that it would not happen again.
I wonder if he can keep that promise?
Thus it is certainly not the first time Garcia has behaved like that – see e.g. this blog.
And see this old video:
Thus I don’t really find his statement trustworthy, and I don’t find his behaviour impressive.