This is how you make a stroke at your moving ball!

Hi all.

Recently Phil Mickelson stated, that he used the Rules of Golf to his advantage by making a stroke at his ball in motion during the U.S. Open.

I think that you would be interested to view this video of another player making a stroke at his ball in motion… with a much better result (than Mickelson):

See the video here (Facebook).

Really a great stroke!

But… of course he had to add two penalty strokes to his score for playing a stroke to his ball in motion (Rule 14-5). I.e. he made two strokes and incurred two penalty strokes… in all four strokes!

(It could be argued that it was not a stroke but rather a deflection, whereby Rule 1-2 would apply, making it possible to disqualify him).

🙂

/Brian

4 Comments
  1. Koen says

    One could say that rule 14-4 applies here too?

    1. Carl Thoreson says

      I think rule 14-4 is really the applicable rule in this situation, rather than rule 14-5. It seems clear to me that he double hit the ball, rather than making a stroke at a moving ball. Therefore, it would be one stroke plus one penalty stroke for a total of two strokes.

  2. Rex Haw says

    What about a player who uses a wedge for a short chip to the flag, but happens to accidentally hit the ball again on his follow through? He’s only made one swing but hit the ball twice. I think its pretty common.

  3. Jack Harms says

    Shouldn’t the bigger question be why accidentally striking a moving ball is even a penalty at all? What does one gain by an accidental double hit? The ball rarely goes where intended, and if, as in the video, a good thing does happen, shouldn’t that be “rub of the green”…or whatever it’s going to be called in 2019? It seems to be one of those penalties for penalty’s sake.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.