Bad etiquette by Sergio Garcia at RBC Canadian Open?

Hi all.

Sergio Garcia missed the cut in last weeks RBC Canadian Open.

During the round he did this:

Sergio’s caddy thought his life was over 😳

Et opslag delt af ZIRA GOLF (@ziragolf) den

As you can see he threw his club into his bag, and his caddie had to take a step away to avoid being hit.

Of course one could say that this was done in frustration, but I must admit that I don’t really like such behaviour. I think it is bad etiquette. Maybe the action did not justify the penalty of disqualification under Rule 33-7 (serious breach of etiquette) but nevertheless I don’t think he is a good role model.

It is not the first time, he has demonstrated this kind of behaviour – see another incident from April this year at the Valero Texas Open, when he threw his driver into some bushes:

Do you think it was OK?

/Brian

7 Comments
  1. Gerry MacDonald says

    Under the code of conduct in the Northern Nevada Golf Association and in Nevada State events, such behavior results in a DQ and requires a letter of apology. Rarely happens once and I cannot recall a second incident by the same player. Officiating at the Senior Open a few years ago a player, no to be mentioned by name, missed a 15-18’ putt for a birdie and threw his putter at his bag. On taking the head cover off his driver at the following hole the head of his driver fell onto the ground. Oops!

    1. Robert McGinn says

      I thought the “spitting into the cup” a few years ago was the low point. Seems bad behavior is repeated if not corrected!

  2. OSWALD ACADEMY says

    Hi Gerry.
    Sounds like a great code of conduct in the Northern Nevada Golf Association.
    Wow what a great story from the Senior Open. Pretty embarrassing for the player…

  3. Jane Marr says

    It will be interesting to see what conduct rules the professional tour bring into their tournaments with the introduction of the new rules next year. I would like to think they have something where behaviour like this would raise a penalty on the player.

  4. Sandy Wilson says

    If the penalyty is unduly harsh the misdemeanor is likely to go unpunished, so a lesser penalty option is worth considering.

  5. Cynthia H-F says

    Totally unacceptable. Not only should he have been DQ’d he should have been heavily fined or banned for the next couple of tournaments. I doubt he would then ever do it again. Very poor example to set for anyone, let alone young players. The R&A or its US equivalent ought to step in.

  6. Thomas Tormey says

    On Friday, August 17, during the WinCo Foods Portland Open, former tour player, Kevin Stadler injured a fan when he slammed a 7 iron into the ground after missing the green with that 7 iron. Stadler’s action caused the head of the club to break off and fly into the crowd hitting the fan in the head causing a serious injury that required 6 stitches at a local hospital. Stadler’s playing partner. Shaun Micheel, said “It’s been a while since I’ve seen so much blood. We stayed with him for about 15 minutes before the EMTs arrived. The last I heard, was that he had a possible skull fracture but that he was doing ok otherwise.”

    Possible skull fracture? Significant bleeding requiring stitches at a hospital? Apparently, Stadler was allowed to continue although he missed the cut. Disqualification would have been a much too light punishment. He should have been banned for life and he is lucky that the injury was not worse.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.