QUIZ 36 (The Rules of Golf): What happens if you drop from shoulder height in 2019?

Hi all!

Time for another Rules quiz:

-> You play a round of golf in April 2019. You deem your ball unplayable (it lies behind a tree) and drops at a correct spot… but you drop from shoulder height. 

What now? Is there any penalty?

Feel free to write your answer below :-).

/Brian

PS: Try some more quizzes (links below):

Quiz 37: Remove white stake – put it back again.
Quiz 36: Dropping from shoulder height in 2019.
Quiz 35: Talking with mom!
Quiz 34: Ball in trash bin.
Quiz 33: Relief from flagstick?
Quiz 32: Move white stake.
Quiz 31: Is ball out of bounds?
Quiz 30: Wrong teeing ground.
Quiz 29: Wrong putting green.
Quiz 28: Blue stake with black top.
Quiz 27: Holing ball with flagstick in hole.
Quiz 26: Ball in tree – what now?
Quiz 25: Searching?
Quiz 24: Practice swing in bunker.
Quiz 23: Mark ball in bunker.
Quiz 22: Ball unplayable.
Quiz 21: Identifying ball.
Quiz 20: Ball on path.
Quiz 19: Relief from bench.

27 Comments
  1. […] 37: Remove white stake – put it back again. Quiz 36: Dropping from shoulder height in 2019. Quiz 35: Talking with mom! Quiz 34: Ball in trash bin. Quiz 33: Relief from flagstick? Quiz 32: […]

  2. Anonymous says

    One stroke penalty

    1. Owen says

      If the ball is in the relief area – One Stroke Penality.
      If the ball is outside the relief area – 2 Stroke Penality

  3. NH Golf says

    No

  4. Gerry says

    It is a one stroke penalty

  5. Harry says

    No penalty

  6. John says

    Ball must be re-dropped from knee height.

  7. Rikard Stokke says

    One penalty stroke. Rule 14.3

  8. Jim Giles says

    There is no penalty and the player must drop the ball from knee height as required by the new rules.

  9. VJOB says

    Did the player play the ball after dropping?

  10. Anonymous says

    No penalty

  11. Mike White says

    Redrop without penalty

  12. Mike Lonergan says

    If the player becomes aware of their error they may resell with no penalty.
    However, if they drop it improperly and play the ball, they will incur a 2-stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place.

  13. Michael Dixon says

    Player must redrop in correct manner. No limit to how many redrops until done correctly. If played after incorrect drop ( with no correction), then incurs general penalty ( 2 strokes)

  14. Steve Muir says

    No penalty

  15. Buddy Jaquith says

    No penalty

  16. Dale Perdue says

    If the player played the incorrectly dropped ball, a one stroke penalty. If the player re-dropped the ball from the correct height, no penalty.

  17. Chuck Flowers says

    You must redrop from correct height, no penalty. If he plays the ball after dropping incorrectly, One stroke Penalty.

  18. Aidan says

    I’m sure the rule will say the ball should be dropped from knee height or higher !!

  19. José María Fernández Alonso says

    No penalty and the player must drop the ball from knee height.

  20. David says

    No penalty There is no max

  21. Bernie says

    No penalty ball may be dropped from a lower height but there will be no maximum.

  22. Michael Dixon says

    No penalty, provided that ball is re-dropped from knee height prior to stroke

  23. SNJ says

    Player may redrop from knee height without penalty. If he does not and plays the ball from within the penalty area, only one stroke penalty. 2 strokes if incorrect drop and played from outside the relief area.

  24. Anonymous says

    No Problem until they hit it.

  25. Ronnie says

    No Problem until they hit it.

  26. Owen says

    Incorrectly dropped ball, a one stroke penalty. If the player re-dropped the ball from the correct height, no penalty.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.