Should Rory McIlroy have been penalized for using another ball as “backstop”?

Hi all.

After an incident with Rory McIlroy recently, once again focus is on whether or not it is OK, that another players ball is not marked and lifted (and thereby maybe is used as “back-stop”).

1. Video.
See the video here:

2. Unreasonable advantage?
Some think that McIlroy (and other players in similar situations) uses this other ball as a help – if they strike the other ball, their ball will stop closer to the hole, than if the ball had not been there.

I have written a blog about the subject some time ago – you can read it on this link.

Feel free to write below what you think about it!


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.