Fantastic stroke… but was there a penalty?

Hi all.

Sometimes I am amazed about the creativity some players have, when they think how to make a stroke.

1. See video.
Se e.g. this stroke:

2. Penalty?
Some people, though, have asked, whether the player incurred a penalty.

As far as I see it, there is no penalty, since the ball lay outside the Putting Green.

If the ball had been lying on the Putting Green, the problem would have been Rule 16-1e, which states:

The player must not make a stroke on the putting green from a stance astride, or with either foot touching, the line of putt or an extension of that line behind the ball.

There is an exception saying, that there is no penalty, if the stance was taken “inadvertently”, which it maybe was.


But no problem here – so we can just enjoy the great putt!



1 Comment
  1. David Grieve says

    Isn’t there an infringement of Rule 8-2a, Indicating Line of Play, Other than on Putting Green? The man with the red-gripped putter seems to be indicating the line of play while the stroke is being played.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.