Once again the Rules of Golf have been in focus – this time on the Champions Tour.
Scott McCarron got a free drop in the first round of “PGA Tour Champions Dominion Energy Charity Classic” Friday, but after the drop he accidentally dropped his club onto the ball, causing it to move!
See the video below:
Tough break. Scott McCarron receives a 1-shot penalty after accidentally dropping club and moving ball. pic.twitter.com/4bAs6Onafy
— PGA TOUR Champions (@ChampionsTour) October 20, 2017
Oops not so good. He thereby incurred a one stroke penalty, and the ball had to be replaced.
By the way not a great reaction from McCarron afterwards, smashing the driver into the ground in anger. Hopefully he will be fined for it and will issue an official excuse. Such actions don’t belong on a golf course (in my opinion).