Once again the Rules of Golf has been in focus.
This time it involved George Bryan who this weekend played Peru Open. At hole 18 he had to accept a quadruple bogey at hole 18.
1) One penalty stroke.
One of these many strokes at hole 18 was a penalty stroke incurred due to his caddie touching the ball while it was still moving after a putt (!):
Gotta love when your caddie(who doesn’t speak your language) touches your ball before it’s done moving and costs you one stroke 😀 #LatinTour
— George Bryan IV (@GeorgeBryanIV) October 19, 2017
2) No further information now.
There are no further information about the incident, other than that…
- … the penalty was one stroke (the player is responsible for the caddies actions – Rule 6-1) and…
- … it probably happened because of problems with speaking together – it was a local caddie who supposedly did not speak English.
The one stroke penalty was incurred under Rule 19-2 (which is about a ball touched unintentionally). Had it been intentionally, the penalty would have been (at least) two penalty strokes under Rule 1-2.
By the way George is one of the two brothers in the famous “Bryan Brothers” trick-shot duo – and they are really good – ses the video below: