We have to be honest – also when it comes to the Rules of Golf.
James Hahn knew that. In the first major in 2015 (US Masters) during the second round, his ball moved on the Putting Green after having addressed it. And since it was not e.g. the wind causing it, he incurred a penalty of one stroke (Rule 18-2a).
I called a penalty on myself on the first hole Friday when my ball moved at address on the green. Ball moved 1 dimple, but indeed moved.
— James Hahn (@JamesHahnPGA) 11. april 2015
He could have ignored it and no-one would have known what happened. But his integrity told him to respect the Rules of Golf and add a penalty stroke to the score – even though he thereby missed the cut by one stroke…