QUIZ 36 (The Rules of Golf): What happens if you drop from shoulder height in 2019?

Hi all!

Time for another Rules quiz:

-> You play a round of golf in April 2019. You deem your ball unplayable (it lies behind a tree) and drops at a correct spot… but you drop from shoulder height. 

What now? Is there any penalty?

Feel free to write your answer below :-).

/Brian

PS: Try some more quizzes (links below):

Quiz 37: Remove white stake – put it back again.
Quiz 36: Dropping from shoulder height in 2019.
Quiz 35: Talking with mom!
Quiz 34: Ball in trash bin.
Quiz 33: Relief from flagstick?
Quiz 32: Move white stake.
Quiz 31: Is ball out of bounds?
Quiz 30: Wrong teeing ground.
Quiz 29: Wrong putting green.
Quiz 28: Blue stake with black top.
Quiz 27: Holing ball with flagstick in hole.
Quiz 26: Ball in tree – what now?
Quiz 25: Searching?
Quiz 24: Practice swing in bunker.
Quiz 23: Mark ball in bunker.
Quiz 22: Ball unplayable.
Quiz 21: Identifying ball.
Quiz 20: Ball on path.
Quiz 19: Relief from bench.

27

27 responses to QUIZ 36 (The Rules of Golf): What happens if you drop from shoulder height in 2019?

  1. Anonymous May 11th, 2018 at 19:32

    One stroke penalty

    • Owen May 11th, 2018 at 22:40

      If the ball is in the relief area – One Stroke Penality.
      If the ball is outside the relief area – 2 Stroke Penality

  2. NH Golf May 11th, 2018 at 19:48

    No

  3. Gerry May 11th, 2018 at 19:56

    It is a one stroke penalty

  4. Harry May 11th, 2018 at 19:59

    No penalty

  5. John May 11th, 2018 at 20:10

    Ball must be re-dropped from knee height.

  6. Rikard Stokke May 11th, 2018 at 20:16

    One penalty stroke. Rule 14.3

  7. Jim Giles May 11th, 2018 at 21:04

    There is no penalty and the player must drop the ball from knee height as required by the new rules.

  8. VJOB May 11th, 2018 at 21:33

    Did the player play the ball after dropping?

  9. Anonymous May 11th, 2018 at 22:54

    No penalty

  10. Mike White May 11th, 2018 at 23:28

    Redrop without penalty

  11. Mike Lonergan May 12th, 2018 at 0:25

    If the player becomes aware of their error they may resell with no penalty.
    However, if they drop it improperly and play the ball, they will incur a 2-stroke penalty for playing from the wrong place.

  12. Michael Dixon May 12th, 2018 at 1:17

    Player must redrop in correct manner. No limit to how many redrops until done correctly. If played after incorrect drop ( with no correction), then incurs general penalty ( 2 strokes)

  13. Steve Muir May 12th, 2018 at 2:33

    No penalty

  14. Buddy Jaquith May 12th, 2018 at 17:57

    No penalty

  15. Dale Perdue May 13th, 2018 at 3:32

    If the player played the incorrectly dropped ball, a one stroke penalty. If the player re-dropped the ball from the correct height, no penalty.

  16. Chuck Flowers May 14th, 2018 at 22:47

    You must redrop from correct height, no penalty. If he plays the ball after dropping incorrectly, One stroke Penalty.

  17. Aidan May 15th, 2018 at 15:28

    I’m sure the rule will say the ball should be dropped from knee height or higher !!

  18. José María Fernández Alonso May 16th, 2018 at 0:33

    No penalty and the player must drop the ball from knee height.

  19. David May 16th, 2018 at 1:41

    No penalty There is no max

  20. Bernie May 16th, 2018 at 18:41

    No penalty ball may be dropped from a lower height but there will be no maximum.

  21. Michael Dixon May 29th, 2018 at 6:39

    No penalty, provided that ball is re-dropped from knee height prior to stroke

  22. SNJ May 31st, 2018 at 16:20

    Player may redrop from knee height without penalty. If he does not and plays the ball from within the penalty area, only one stroke penalty. 2 strokes if incorrect drop and played from outside the relief area.

  23. Anonymous June 27th, 2018 at 5:52

    No Problem until they hit it.

  24. Ronnie June 27th, 2018 at 5:53

    No Problem until they hit it.

  25. Owen July 2nd, 2018 at 7:53

    Incorrectly dropped ball, a one stroke penalty. If the player re-dropped the ball from the correct height, no penalty.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. QUIZ 37 (The Rules of Golf): Remove white stake… and replace it before stroke…penalty? | Golfrules - 11. May 2018

    […] 37: Remove white stake – put it back again. Quiz 36: Dropping from shoulder height in 2019. Quiz 35: Talking with mom! Quiz 34: Ball in trash bin. Quiz 33: Relief from flagstick? Quiz 32: […]

Leave a Reply