Quiz 15 about the Rules of Golf (easy): Concede short putt.

Hi all. Once again it is time for an easy quiz about the Rules of Golf. See the picture below. Are you allowed to concede a short putt in stroke play? What happens if you...
Continue reading 1

Ben Crane disqualified: Carried non-conforming clubs he did not use

Hi all. Once again the Rules of Golf are in the headlines after yet another weird situation! In the recent Albertsons Boise Open on the Web.com Tour, american professional golfer Ben Crane incurred four penalty strokes early during the first round Thursday..... then he incurred four penalty strokes more later in the round...and finally he was disqualified Friday morning! What happened? Penalty nr. 1: The driver. Well, on the teeing ground at hole 11 (his second hole of the day) Ben Crane realized, that he had forgot to remove a small electronic decal/sticker from his driver. This sticker was used during practice to send data, and this data could then subsequently be analyzed. If you put sich a sticker to your club, it is renderen non-conforming after Rule 4-1. The penalty is two penalty strokes for each hole, where the breach has occurred (with a maximum of four penalty strokes). If it is discovered between holes (which Crane did), the Rules of Golf states, that it is considered to be discovered during play of the next hole. Therefore Crane incurred two penalty strokes at hole 10 and two penalty strokes at hole 11. In all four penalty strokes! It does not effect the penalty that he in fact had not used the driver! Penalty nr. 2: The 6-iron. At hole 14 he then conferred with a rules official and basically told the official, that the same kind of sticker was on his 6-iron! Result: Four penalty strokes more; two on hole 10 and two on hole 11. In all 8 penalty strokes! The 6-iron had not been used. Penalty nr. 3: Disqualification! Friday morning Crane took a talk with a rules official and told him, that he (Crane) in fact already between hole 10 and 11 Thursday knew about the sticker on the 6-iron. OOps, not too good. The Rules of Golf states, that you - as soon as you realize the problem - must declare the club out of play. Crane did not deckle the 6-iron out of play as soon as possible... he did not do it until hole 14. Penalty? Disqualification! Ben Crane quite confused. Ben Crane was quite confused and in the below video it does not seem that he has fully understood the Rules and his penalty:   After receiving two separate four-shot penalties early in his opening round @Boise_Open, @bencranegolf played his last 16 holes in 3 under. pic.twitter.com/vt82SFT5no — Kevin Prise (@WebTourKevin) September 15, 2017 In general he took it really well: - You can still learn while you are playing....Man lærer så længe man spiller. Jeg prøvede bare at kæmpe videre (efter de 8 straffeslag, red) og få det bedste ud af det, udtalte han ifølge PGA Tourens hjemmeside. Meget flot holdning særligt set i lyset af at den tidligere femdobbelte PGA Tour vinder kæmper hårdt for at holde sit PGA Tour kort. /Brian
Hi all. Once again the Rules of Golf are in the headlines after yet another weird situation! In the recent Albertsons Boise Open on the Web.com Tour, american professional golfer Ben Crane incurred four penalty strokes...
Continue reading 3