Bad etiquette by Sergio Garcia at RBC Canadian Open?

Hi all.

Sergio Garcia missed the cut in last weeks RBC Canadian Open.

During the round he did this:

Sergio’s caddy thought his life was over 😳

Et opslag delt af ZIRA GOLF (@ziragolf) den

As you can see he threw his club into his bag, and his caddie had to take a step away to avoid being hit.

Of course one could say that this was done in frustration, but I must admit that I don’t really like such behaviour. I think it is bad etiquette. Maybe the action did not justify the penalty of disqualification under Rule 33-7 (serious breach of etiquette) but nevertheless I don’t think he is a good role model.

It is not the first time, he has demonstrated this kind of behaviour – see another incident from April this year at the Valero Texas Open, when he threw his driver into some bushes:

Do you think it was OK?

/Brian

8

8 responses to Bad etiquette by Sergio Garcia at RBC Canadian Open?

  1. Gerry MacDonald August 5th, 2018 at 4:20

    Under the code of conduct in the Northern Nevada Golf Association and in Nevada State events, such behavior results in a DQ and requires a letter of apology. Rarely happens once and I cannot recall a second incident by the same player. Officiating at the Senior Open a few years ago a player, no to be mentioned by name, missed a 15-18’ putt for a birdie and threw his putter at his bag. On taking the head cover off his driver at the following hole the head of his driver fell onto the ground. Oops!

    • Robert McGinn August 18th, 2018 at 22:24

      I thought the “spitting into the cup” a few years ago was the low point. Seems bad behavior is repeated if not corrected!

  2. OSWALD ACADEMY August 6th, 2018 at 20:41

    Hi Gerry.
    Sounds like a great code of conduct in the Northern Nevada Golf Association.
    Wow what a great story from the Senior Open. Pretty embarrassing for the player…

  3. Jane Marr August 14th, 2018 at 12:37

    It will be interesting to see what conduct rules the professional tour bring into their tournaments with the introduction of the new rules next year. I would like to think they have something where behaviour like this would raise a penalty on the player.

  4. Sandy Wilson August 15th, 2018 at 13:33

    If the penalyty is unduly harsh the misdemeanor is likely to go unpunished, so a lesser penalty option is worth considering.

  5. Cynthia H-F August 15th, 2018 at 21:04

    Totally unacceptable. Not only should he have been DQ’d he should have been heavily fined or banned for the next couple of tournaments. I doubt he would then ever do it again. Very poor example to set for anyone, let alone young players. The R&A or its US equivalent ought to step in.

  6. Thomas Tormey August 21st, 2018 at 13:43

    On Friday, August 17, during the WinCo Foods Portland Open, former tour player, Kevin Stadler injured a fan when he slammed a 7 iron into the ground after missing the green with that 7 iron. Stadler’s action caused the head of the club to break off and fly into the crowd hitting the fan in the head causing a serious injury that required 6 stitches at a local hospital. Stadler’s playing partner. Shaun Micheel, said “It’s been a while since I’ve seen so much blood. We stayed with him for about 15 minutes before the EMTs arrived. The last I heard, was that he had a possible skull fracture but that he was doing ok otherwise.”

    Possible skull fracture? Significant bleeding requiring stitches at a hospital? Apparently, Stadler was allowed to continue although he missed the cut. Disqualification would have been a much too light punishment. He should have been banned for life and he is lucky that the injury was not worse.

  7. Gigi August 27th, 2018 at 21:33

    I didn’t get ut, did he disqualified or not?

Leave a Reply